Category: Uncategorized


Posted by

The second of these 8 limbs of yoga are the Niyamas. Niyama’s are practices of things we aught to do versus what we should not do (Yama). The five Niyamas are: Saucha – cleanliness / purification, Santosha – contentment, Svadhyaya – self study, Tapas – discipline, and Ishvara Pranidhana – Devotion / Surrender to God…. Read more »


Posted by

Patanjali means sage in Sanskrit. It was probably not one person but several who laid out the 8 limbs of Yoga in the Yoga Sutras. This blog touches on the 5 Yamas, the first limb. The Yamas focus on our ethical standards and integrity. They discuss behavior and suggest how we can conduct ourselves in… Read more »

Why Meditate?

Posted by

Someone once asked the Buddha skeptically, “What have you gained through meditation.” The Buddha replied, “Nothing at all.” “Then, Blessed One, what good is it.” “Let me tell you what I lost through meditation: sickness, anger, depression, insecurity, the burden of old age, the fear of death. That is the good of meditation, which leads… Read more »